Urban Music Awards

IMG_2990

Many of us root for our favorite singers, artists and bands during music awards like Grammys, MTV Awards, BBMA, EMA and more. What about the local scene? TBH, I don’t know much about new songs or upcoming artists when it comes to OPM.

Last Tuesday, I was invited to Wave 89.1’s Urban Music Awards that was held at Samsung Hall, SM Aura. Skilled DJs are doing their thing on their mixers. The blaring music from the speakers drowns out all the noise. The event started late but the opening performances heated up the stage. In between performances, they announced winners of two categories.

IMG_2994Kenjhons

 IMG_3009Lola’s Noisy Neighbors/Rapskallion

IMG_3019Young JV

IMG_3046Mica Javier with Philippine All Stars

IMG_3064Gloc-9 won “Best Original Song” Magda with Rico Blanco.

IMG_3078Ron Henley singing “Biglang Liko.” Out of all the artists there, he’s my fave. \m/

IMG_3089R-jay & Ron Henley

IMG_3100LDP: R-jay, Abra and Alex

IMG_3172

The fans were immediately out of their seats for the anticipated Bone Thugs-N-Harmony! Krayzie Bone, Layzie Bone and Wish Bone owned the stage with their songs I Tried, Thuggish Ruggish, First of the Month and lastly, Crossroads. ’twas epic!

IMG_3176 IMG_3178

I want to thank my friend, Shane. She was my all-access pass. I can sit anywhere I want and go backstage, all I needed to do was say her name. No selfies last night though. My friends were busy working so I was jamming solo but it’s all good.

I should attend these events more often. I enjoyed the experience. :D. Follow me on Instagram, peeps.

© MAZE BORRINAGA

Leave a Reply

