My First Screenwriting Journey

Happy April 1st!

Our semester is finally over. It’s summer! Unfortunately, I have to complete the required hours for our On-The-Job training. Bummer! Anyway, my one-month hiatus in blogging was used for completion of requirements for my subjects. I have mentioned that I’m taking a Film Writing class from my January Update. We were tasked to write a screenplay for a full-length film.

My writing journey was hard but pleasant. It’s a bonus that I’m interested in the subject and writing compared to others who are doing it to for the purpose of passing. Apart from lessons, I studied on my own by reviewing online references. I read scripts. There’s so much to learn! Being a novice screenwriter, my individuality kept being challenged. There are rules to follow but I didn’t let that stop me from doing my own thing.

I have watched/heard/read from somewhere that if you’re a beginner, you should write about what you know, it’s common sense. It’ll make writing easier. Writers steal from their own experiences. I agree because it’s true but I chose a different path. First, my story revolves around hacking. I don’t know anything about hacking. I know that I’m fascinated. I think it’s cool. Is it a mistake choosing a theme I’m unfamiliar with? Hm. It was difficult, I’ll give you that but it wasn’t a wrong choice. Research, research, research! I needed to know about process, tech stuff, overview, setting, people, jargon and a lot more. Yet, another challenge.

My first script (hopefully not the last) is entitled “Hacker Elite”. My friends kept insisting that I am my main character, Ree. Maybe, maybe not. I don’t know either. Does that make sense? Ree can be my alter ego. She’s an ambition.

From the title itself, the genre needed more action than dialogue. It’s exhausting for my brain but it was fun. I didn’t think that I was capable of doing that. I’m proud that I made it. Typing FADE OUT made me happy and I was like, “Wow. I finished my first-ever script.”

Check out my poster. I was supposed to use another model but I ended up doing it myself. Lol. What do you think? (Brief Explanation: Black Hats are computer criminals while White Hats are ethical hackers. )

Poster

Nobody has read my screenplay yet. Even I haven’t read the hard copy. I didn’t even get the chance to open it after it was ring-binded because I had to pass it on time. Ugh. I’m still pissed about that because I was told not to touch the moment it was stamped with the time. ;( My professor is very strict with deadlines. I will reprint it and I’m going to give a copy to my Dad. He is hard to please so I’m happy that he didn’t think it was bad when I shared the idea before I started writing.

Do I want to pursue screenwriting? Hopefully, Yes. Someday, I want my name to be on the big screen. Writers want their art to be seen by the world but the industry is cruel. Even good scripts are being scrapped because of numerous reasons. Though I haven’t experienced it yet, I already know that rejection is heartbreaking. That’s reality. Writing is an escape. We get to use our imagination and pick up lessons along the way. You can give life to unique characters and tell stories that you make. Don’t lose hope. Keep writing!

MAZE

 

Leave a Reply

