Rest in Peace, My Dear Lucca_Chi

A week ago, I posted about my dog, Lucca_Chi. I stated some of our minor concerns regarding his ears and skin. I didn’t expect that today is the day that he’s going to say goodbye.

Last Tuesday (1/15), he seemed sick. He vomited and pooped. We took him to the vet the day after that (1/16). He was diagnosed of having worms that he may have gained from fetching our slippers. He liked to nibble ’em and he even gets the same pair of slippers. We overlooked it, not realizing that countless bacterias are residing on those. A parvo test has also been made, having the result of a positive. The vet told us that he will be given respective meds while in confinement. The typical time for examing/curing of parvo virus is three days so he was confined.

The first day showed improvement because he didn’t poo nor puke but he eventually did the second day. We kept contact with the vet, asking for updates. With our worries building up and the bill going up, we are left hanging because we can’t predict what’s going to happen. All we could do is brace ourselves and hope for the best. They’re also unsure if he’s gon’na make it or not but they kept giving us hope and the most important thing is Lucca’s still alive. Until on the third day (1/20), he died on 1:30 pm.

Since I visited him on the first day, I kept thinking “Lucca’s alone there. I mean, with us not being there with him. If it was hard for us, it was way WAY harder for him. He was already weak with his gloomy eyes meeting my eyes, it’s heartbreaking.” My older sister, Ate NC, told me earlier that may be we needed to rephrase what we’re saying to him, instead of “Lucca, pagaling ka na. Umuwi na tayo.” (Lucca, get well. Let’s go home.), we need to say, “Lucca, pagod ka na ba? Tulog ka na.” (Lucca, are you tired? Sleep now.) It stung deep inside.

I was in school when I got the news so I controlled myself not to breakdown and postpone it for as long as I could. I did just that with the help of my friends. But now, while writing this, numerous flashbacks and visions are on my mind with countless teardrops streaming down my cheeks.

Lucca, 3 months with us? That’s it. 3 months. You were still young and had many years ahead of you but that’s gone now. No more morning walks, baths, cleaning poos, giving dog treats, training, tweeting, sleeping beside me, greeting me when I get back from school, getting/giving kisses and so much more. You were supposed to see me graduate, get my first job and you were supposed to be a part of whatever milestone that we’ll come across. But Dobby, you must’ve been tired, right? Fighting for it, it must’ve been physically and mentally draining. I’m sorry. I really am sorry. This is the plan for you, I may not understand now but at least, you’re watching over us from above. We already miss you, bebe. I will miss you so much. You were a very great dog, a good boy. Thank you for everything. Words can’t explain how dear you are to us/me. We love you so much!

Rest in peace, my dear Lucca_Chi.

With all the love, MAZE

Comments
2 Responses to “Rest in Peace, My Dear Lucca_Chi”
  1. I simply want to mention I am beginner to weblog and truly enjoyed you’re page. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You definitely have exceptional writings. Thanks for revealing your web site.

Leave a Reply

